Closing Time…

After over four years and 319 pubs later, I’ve decided it’s time to end my blog. Right now I feel like a break is in order from dashing around London visiting pubs in far flung places. So I’m not visiting any more rail stations for the blog, it’s the end of the line.

That’s not to say I’m done with pub exploring. A rest is definitely in order and then perhaps returning with a fresh idea. Doing all the rail stations after all the tube stations was a bit ‘more of the same’ and didn’t offer anything new. I was starting to find it a struggle to make what I was writing interesting and that’s why I knew it was time to call it quits. Plus it’s tiring, very tiring!

Thank you to everyone who has read this from the start and maybe even picked up a couple of recommendations along the way. It was incredibly enjoyable to do, taking me from pubs in the heart of the city to village inns out in leafy Zone 9. Even the trips to Heathrow were fun in their own way, as was visiting a bar in a bowling alley because there simply wasn’t anything else in Park Royal.  Special thanks also go to all my long suffering friends who have been dragged to these remote locations.

I still can’t believe I ended up on ITV London News and BBC Radio to talk about it all. TimeOut were great, as were Londonist even if they did include a reference to my blog at the end of an article on best pubs for first dates under the header ‘for a quick getaway’. No comment…

I hope this has inspired some of you to venture out and explore the huge variety of pubs in London. We are very lucky to have so many great ones and I was very lucky to visit so many of them. Now I’ve got more time to go back and revisit some old favourites. All that’s left to say is thanks again for reading and keep your eyes open for whatever I end up writing about next.

Cheers!

P.S: If anyone wants to turn my tube adventures into a book, I’m still all ears.

4 thoughts on “Closing Time…

  1. Sorry to see that you are calling it a day, but understand the reasons! Have greatly enjoyed your blog. Hope that someone does indeed make a book of your tube blog. All good wishes for a happy “retirement”!

  2. Sorry to hear that you’re calling time on the blog. I was looking forward to offering recommendations on my home turf of Streatham Hill and West Norwood. Perhaps, like mine, your body is telling you to go easy on the booze!

  3. Hi Sam. Sorryto read the blog is no more but we definitly understand. We aborted our tube crawl about Christmas time 3/4s of the way through the District Line. Two excellent microbrew pubs have opened up in Hanwell and West Ealing so it seems pointless going the other end of London for a mediocre pint!

    I can imagine the national rail stations aren’t as interesting as the tube either. Hanwell does have fabulous listed station so if you ever want to pop over to West London you are welcome

    All.the best Sarah (and Martin)

Leave a Reply

